The Carlo Annoni Award is for theatre plays on gay themes and on diversity in love.

In the year of fifth centenary of Leonardo Da Vinci, who was discriminated for his sexual orientation, we dedicate the Carlo Annoni Prize 2019 to all those who in Italy and in the world fight for having recognized the right to love and against discrimination.

“Once you have experienced the flight’s flightiness, when you are back on the ground again, you will continue to look at the sky.” Leonardo Da Vinci

The plays can be written in Italian or in English

The prize is € 1000 for texts for each language (Italian and English).

Special mentions 2019

– What’s more, among the asylum seekers every year there are many people who leave their country because they are victims of persecution concerning sexual orientation. A special prize will be awarded to a text that deals with this theme. 

– A special mention will be given for 10-minute theatrical shorts to promote  the theater in schools, clubs and events.

Plays must be sent by April 30, 2019 to: info@premiocarloannoni.eu

Participation is free of charge.

Texts already represented in the previous two years will also be taken into consideration.

The award ceremony will take place in September 2019 with an event in Milan.

A “library” of plays received is being created on this site to make them available to theater companies: those who want their text to become part of the virtual library must express their consent at the time of submitting the play, provided that the Author has all rights.



ROYAL PALACE (Piazza Duomo 14, Milan) CARLO ANNONI AWARD 2018


A big thank you to the jury and the public for the exciting day on June 14 at Palazzo Reale.

The winners: were:

Best play in Italian:

“Zeus in Texas” by Sergio Casesi.

Special mentions:

“Gazali per l’emiro”by Ana Fernandez Valbuena

“The odds of the asterisk (*)” by Lisa Capaccioli.

“Gino, Monday rest” by Gianni Clementi.

Best play in English

“Mark in Venice” by Mark Erson.


The winning play “Zeus in Texas” will be on stage,

in the form of “mise en espace”, at the Lecite/Visioni Festival at the Filodrammatici Theater of Milan on

October 28th, 2018 At 6 PM


The award ceremony evening was a great success with the public (more than 200 people) who celebrated the prize for playwrights dedicated to love.

The authors’ personalities impressed the audience with the presence of playwrights like the Lutheran pastor Mark Erson of New York, who has his church in Christhopher street, home of the Stonewall riots, and the musician and writer Sergio Casesi, and the fresh author of The odds of the asterisk (*) Lisa Capaccioli and Ana Fernandez Valbuena with her refined culture, and Gianni Clementi with his originality.

Ferdinando Bruni has enchanted the audience with the theatrical reading of passages from the winning play.

We were all happily impressed by the response of the public proving that the Carlo Annoni Prize has great potential.

The 2019 edition will be followed much more closely by the Municipality and by the patronizing theaters (Elfo Puccini, Filodrammatici, Teatro della Ringhiera, Outis Tramedautore) and there are already a lot of development ideas (openings to playwrights of repressive countries, prizes for young playwrights, and partnership with the Italian Theater Festival in New York).